Jerry A. Jacobs

Sociology Professor Jerry A. Jacobs is the 2011 recipient of the Merit Award from the Eastern Sociological Society. This career achievement award is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to the discipline, the profession, and the Eastern Sociological Society. The list of previous ESS Merit Award winners include many of the discipline’s most distinguished scholars, including Pitirim Sorokin, Jessie Bernard, Talcott Parsons, Robert Merton, Paul Lazarsfeld, Herbert Gans, Charles Tilly and Cynthia Fuchs Epstein. Recipients from the University of Pennsylvania include Renee Fox (1993), E. Digby Baltzell (1988) and Thorsten Sellin (1966). Dr. Jacobs is the author of five books, including The Time Divide, and 75 articles and book chapters.  He served as President of the Eastern Sociological Society in 2003 and Editor of the American Sociological Review from 2004-2006. The Merit Award will be presented to Professor Jacobs on February 26, 2011 at the 81st meeting of the ESS in Philadelphia.